Wednesday, December 30, 2015

Provo Municipal Council Inauguration



Provo, Utah, December 30, 2015 – On Tuesday, January 5, 2016, the Provo Municipal Council will hold a formal inauguration of Council members elected in the November 2015 general election.

Gary Winterton, District 1, and Kay Van Buren, District 4, were elected to a second term on the Council. New members Dave Knecht, Dave Harding, and George Stewart were elected to represent District 3, District 5, and City Wide District II, respectively. All will serve four year terms with the exception of Harding, who is serving the final two years in the District 5 seat left vacant by the passing of Stephen Hales. Knecht and Stewart are returning to the Council after having served previously.

The inauguration will begin at 3:00 p.m. in the Council Chambers at 351 West Center Street. Bill Hulterstrom is serving as master of ceremonies. The Provo Police and Fire Department Joint Honor Guard will be joined by members of the Provo High School Chamber Singers for the opening ceremony. Provo Justice Court Judge Romney will administer the oath of office.

An open house will be held after the formal portion of the event until 4:30 p.m. The regular Council meeting will commence at 5:30 p.m.

- ### -

About Provo Municipal Council:
The Municipal Council is the legislative and policy making body of Provo City. The Council, through the adoption of ordinances and resolutions, establishes laws, sets policy, oversees the budget, provides opinion on the administrative branch’s execution of the law, and approves long-term contracts and commitments of City resources. The Council is currently comprised of seven members, five from specific districts and two at-large.

 Notices are provided as a public service. Comments and questions should be directed to the Council Office at (801) 852-6122.